Warped aluminum table saw top / Verzogen tischkreissägenplatte aus Aluminium

theobas

ww-pappel
Hi!

I'm a Swedish hobby woodworker. I have used this forum a bit (using google translate) using your collective knowledge.

I have a question regarding a cast aluminum table saw top from the eighties that is warped. The middle of the top has become the highest point and descends from there down towards the edges, basicly creating a bow i all directions.

Does anyone have experience re-flattening such a table saw top? Do you think it would be possible?

In my head i was thinking i should be able to unscrew the top and, with the help of a completely straight plank or something, bang it straight again?

Or, should i just consider it ruined?

Thank you in advance and feel free to answer in german if you like (i can use google translate :emoji_slight_smile:)

Best regards

TB

werists

ww-robinie
Hi welcome!
I believe a image of the table would be helpful. How much (mm) is the difference between the highest and the lowest point?

theobas

ww-pappel
Hi,
Thank you both for the fast reply!

It's a significant difference. I will measure the exact distance in the mourning, but a couple of mm probably.

If a machinist take this on, wouldn't the remaning material be to thin?

Anhänge

• IMG-6418.jpg
    IMG-6418.jpg
    87,7 KB · Aufrufe: 82
  • IMG-6419.jpg
    IMG-6419.jpg
    101,5 KB · Aufrufe: 81

theobas

ww-pappel
Hi,
Thank you both for the fast reply!

It's a significant difference. I will measure the exact distance in the mourning, but a couple of mm probably.

Another thought i've had has been to buy a used cast iron table saw top and replace the one i have.

Something like this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/3346555519...rentrq:e22441b618a0ad98cdcc0c0bffff3784|iid:1

Any thoughts on where to find something similar in europe?

werists

ww-robinie
Unfortunately, I believe yes. The difference is to much as I see on the pictures.
I never seen a table saw top as used spare part.